Striking up Musings


When I first heard about the teacher strike, part of me was happy.  It was like I was a kid again and no school meant freedom.  There was another part of me that was truely worried, ’cause, let’s face it –  I’m not a kid.  I can’t stop wondering:  What if the strike goes on for too long and I can’t meet my course requirements?  What if I have to repeat this semester next year?  What if I lose the money for this semester?  And what about my plans?  This could seriously fuck up my life if this strike goes on for too long.  And even though we all know, well, I know that I should be doing all this  homework and keeping up to date on things, I’m not.  I lack the motivation when there is no clear punishment at stake.  Except, of course, if the punishment is  losing my semester with a big, fat fail, then I may be completely screwing myself.  It’s not that I don’t support the teachers, because I do.  I understand about the workload and the class sizes, but I don’t understand why they couldn’t just fight about this and keep the school year going.  I honestly don’t feel like I’m being ripped off… yet.  But another week of this and my concerns are going to turn into alarms, and I’m going to stop understanding.  It’s okay to fight for something you believe in, but when the lives of the innocent get caught in the crossfire, you must question if you are fighting appropriately for what you believe in.  It’s the contradiction of striking teachers fighting for better education whilst denying students any education.  I suppose I wouldn’t be so worried if I got off my ass.
By the way, like my new glasses?  At least I look studious.
About humanbeen

I'm a has-been that was. I'm a dreamer that does.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Striking up Musings

  1. Agata says:

    My panicking has already begun.. I had my first panic attack earlier this week because of the strike.
    I\’m getting really worried.
     
    This isn\’t cool anymore.
    *sigh*
     
    ~Agata.

Leave a Reply

