I, like God, do not play with dice


I often thought that some poetic or romantic moment was supposed to precede a big life change. Like there I’d be standing in an airport having some moment of doubt about my place in life and this orange-clad, chanting monk or mysterious, bearded-man would approach me for no apparent reason and say some cryptic kind of comment that I’d be able to decode with some kind of life knowledge I only recently learned from some crazy escapade I’d just experienced.  Doesn’t everyone believe stuff like that happens?

Well, it didn’t happen for me just that way. I mean, I had some big, life-altering experience, which included a trip across an ocean, a relocation of sorts and, in the most exhausting way, a large moment of doubt that I cleared by the only means I knew – planning my future. But there wasn’t a chanting monk or a mysterious bearded man. The only thing pointing me in any direction was my imagination – and it said “Go away … go on an adventure … escape … go see … enjoy … define ‘one day.” I believe that when my brain starts talking to me, or informing me that I need to do something, you know, like intuition or some kind of internal guiding, it’s best to listen – especially if I can hear it. So I did what I thought was necessary, and I planned a trip to New Zealand.

When I say planned, I use that word loosely. I not so much have a plan as I planned only my airline ticket and holiday work visa. My work visa entitles me to one year in New Zealand, but I will return to Canada for the end of April. Of course, I say that now, having never set foot in the country. I have a feeling I’ll be thinking much differently as April draws nearer.

Some people have asked me why I chose New Zealand and I don’t have a good answer. I never really wanted to travel so far away from home. I love adventure and I like to keep life interesting, but I really never had any desire to go to Australia or New Zealand. But over the past year the country kept finding interesting ways to enter my life, and  “I, like God, do not play with dice.” (V for Vendetta) So I decided, coincidence or not, why the hell not? I figure I haven’t really anything to lose. I already sold everything I owned months ago for an adventure that turned out differently, yet I suppose also perfectly, so I haven’t much to lose. And besides – I believe that I’m always where I need to be as long as I’m always being me.

Up until a week ago I was heading to New Zealand knowing that two people I kind of know are working in Queenstown and one of my friend’s parents live in Auckland.  But thanks to my friend Karri, I now kind of know one person in Auckland, which is somewhat reassuring as that’s not only the city I arrive in, but he’s also a skydiver.

I haven’t found a job yet, though I’ve sent out a number of emails, but I suppose in a country filled with back packers and other tourists, it must be difficult to believe that people are really going to show up. So I guess I just have to get there and see what happens. I’d love to find a job packing (parachutes), but I’ll waitress if I have to.  Some friends have told me I can even pick fruit or do other farm work while I’m there. Apparently it’s quite common for farmers to just hire people passing through. Whatever I have to do, I’ll make enough money to survive.

I’ve been wondering about bringing my equipment with me and while I think it’s going to be a pain in the ass to lug around, I think I’ll miss it if I don’t have it. Besides, the IEP hosting office pamphlet states that they’ll store luggage for up to one month. Then there’s also this skydiver who may be able to help me out. Again, I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

Right now the details of my trip are based only on an arrival date. Pretty cool n’est pa?

About humanbeen

I'm a has-been that was. I'm a dreamer that does.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

