twenty-three days and counting


Hiking the 19km Tongariro Crossing in 2009. New Zealand.

Rarely do I feel the childish excitement and anticipation that usually precedes a monumental life experience. It kind of sucks. I’d like to get giddy and silly and bouncingly-happy about things, but I often find when I do that things never quite work out. It’s like a curse. So I block these feelings out. And then things get even less climactic. I suppose I’m just trying to save face and not look like a doofus – you know the kind that tells everyone about their awesome upcoming adventure only to have it all fall apart bit by bit before they can even depart. Perhaps I feel that if I don’t get excited than I won’t be too bummed if nothing comes of it. Plans change. I know that quite intimately – plans change – and so I believe that it’s best to not have too much investment in the things that can so easily become uncontrollable. The trick, however, is to know when things are worth fighting for.

So New Zealand. I applied for and got another holiday-working visa. I leave on November 29th and have employment at Skydive Abel Tasman in Motueka again for the summer. The first time I went, New Zealand only gave these visas to Canadians 18-30-years-old. But through a program called Swap run by the Canadian Federation of Students in partnership with Work New Zealand, they offered a very similar holiday-working scheme visa through IEP – International Exchange Program. Well, sometime in the past year or two New Zealand upped their government run holiday-working visa to 35-years-old for Canadians. Seeing as my fist visa was through IEP, I still qualified for the government one. I applied online and received confirmation of my work visa in two days! I must confess. I’m a little stoked. Going back to New Zealand is something I never really considered. And now I’m hoping – I know – it’ll be an important part of my journey I’ve undertaken these past seventeen months. Maybe I’ll find exactly what I need there – myself.

So I bought some new luggage. I think it’ll work nicely, but who cares. It’s a suitcase and I just need to fill it with skydiving equipment. I’m moving into the same house I lived at last time, with one of the same roommates. I think I even get my old bedroom. The house is down the street from an orchard, and just down the other end of the street is a series of trails that go out to the ocean. I used to run out to the shore all the time. I’m looking forward to this run again. Some of the girls are still there to go dancing and drinking with – we always had such a great time. There’s even a mini cineplex in town and a gym. This time, however, I think I may get my own car. Or at least a bike.

So I guess I’m maybe being foolish and getting a little excited. I’m excited for the change. I’m excited to go somewhere different, even though I’ve been there before. I’m excited for the adventure. For driving on the wrong side of the car and the wrong side of the road. I’m excited for the meat pies. I’m excited to see my SAT family. And I’m excited to see Emily at the airport when I arrive on December 1st. But mostly I’m excited to get on that plane, because then I will have comfort and zeal – there’s no turning back.

About humanbeen

I'm a has-been that was. I'm a dreamer that does.
This entry was posted in adventure, starting over and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to twenty-three days and counting

  1. I’m excited for you!

  2. sKY says:

    I’m really thrilled that this opportunity has opened up for you! How exciting. Congrats Sherri.
    sKY::

Leave a Reply

