this time


Timing is everything. There’s a reason that expression exists. And holy fuck do I often flout the relevance of it. I mean, I like it, and I whole-heartedly believe in it, but I sometimes have a hard time accepting what comes with it. What I mean is there are those instances in life when everything comes together creating a wonderous extravaganza of coincidences. Those are usually seen as the “meant-to-bes” or the “in-the-right-place-at-the-right-time” events. Everyone likes those moments, and why not? They’re filled with positivity and kindle an adoration for the mysteriousness of life. It makes us wonder about the esoteric and embrace it due to some supercilious feeling that we are deeply connected to all things.

But not all moments are like that. There are also those other occurrences. Everyone knows of these. They’re infamous for inciting bafflement. They’re often most unwanted. And really, who wants to get into the whole chicken-or-egg debate every single time they happen. But they just keep on happening, don’t they? These are the moments when life conspires to shit on you. When the timing is perfect, as it always is, but it just so happens it’s your turn to have a bad experience or at least an experience that will cause you to search deep within yourself for the strength and wisdom to accept it as something meant to happen – also causing you to wonder what karmic bill you are paying. These events also provoke an infatuation with the esoteric, but on a much different and severely more analytical nature. The quest in that regard is to uncover when or where the outcome could have been altered – or could still be altered. How you missed all the signs. Surely there should have been signs. At least if all that esoteric crap is real. These are the events that can make us question if we are doing something wrong in this life.

I’ve learned a thing or two about dealing with these adverse moments. Not that I’m an expert on life, but what I have learned is to not have attachment to my life as a thing I am creating and adding to, but to have a more devout interest in having attachment to each moment as it comes. To live each moment, whether it is good or bad. To take each event as an experience to be lived in that moment and then left in the past. What I mean is when an event happens that causes me to wonder if I was in the wrong place at the wrong time, or the right place at the wrong time, or the wrong place at the right time or the right place at the right time – when these kind of moments happen I remember that it has already happened and the only thing I can control about it now is what I do with it in my head. And then I smile. Because usually when a moment like that happens, and I’m experiencing it as it’s happening, I feel the greatest sense of awe. This world is crazily amazing – even when it shits on you. So to clarify, there’s no use crying over spilled milk.

Life is a series of moments. Whether good or bad – it’s how quickly we let them go that determines how many moments we will experience.

 

About humanbeen

I'm a has-been that was. I'm a dreamer that does.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to this time

Leave a Reply

