Why I might say good-bye to my Macintosh


My trusty 2008 MacBook with an upgraded 512GB hard-drive and a life expectancy that has baffled the most brainy scholars.

My trusty 2008 MacBook with an upgraded 512GB hard-drive and a life expectancy that has baffled the most brainy scholars.

I know already. It sounds like some kind of joke, or worse, the beginning of a horror story. Why would anyone in their right mind go back to the (shudder) rudimentary mid-evil platform of Windows when they have crossed through the pearly gates (otherwise known as my 2008 MacBook – colour: white.)

The thing is, I need a laptop for very few things. I take photos, but I hardly edit them. I spend a heap of time on the Internet, any browser will do. I watch movies. I blog. I do small amounts of video-work. But mainly, my laptop doesn’t get that much of a workout, unless it always being on and me typing away like a courtroom stenographer counts. I’m not a gamer, unless doing online jigsaw puzzles count. So I don’t really need a MacBook Pro or 8GB of RAM or an i7 machine.

I would like to say that I didn’t come to this decision easily, but that would be lying. I love my MacBook, even though I’ve replaced the logic board twice, the hard drive three times, the track pad, the case, the fan, the optical drive and the MagSafe power adaptor. Most of this was done with Depot Service, apart from a scary moment when the hard-drive just died, but that’s not the point. The point is, it could be replaced. And the point is I can’t afford a new Mac.

These days, when you buy a new Mac,  you get what you get from the beginning and you can’t change it. Got a MacBook Air with 256GB of flash memory. Cool. Want to upgrade? Sorry. No can do. It’s welded in place. Got 4GB or RAM. Cool. Want to upgrade. Nope. Welded to the logic board. And what’s more, getting a new MacBook with 256GB of memory is about $300 more than the smaller memory. Get yourself a few portable hard drives. Ok, more money. On a PC you could just get a bigger hard drive on Amazon from some dude in Hong Kong.

Ok. When Depot Service replaced a wide number of parts on my ancient Macbook for about $300 USD, they upgraded my 256GB hard drive to 512GB at no additional cost. I’m not saying something’s wrong with this scenario, but … nope, that is what I’m saying. What up, Apple?

I know six years is a long and almost sadistic life for a laptop, and I should’ve put it out of its misery (or better, saved myself from it) a long time ago, but with student loan payments and … I’m not gonna bore you with my financial woes, but I just couldn’t afford to. And now, I still can’t afford to.

So a new host of MacBook Airs and MacBook Pros have been announced, and with the hefty price tag, I have to wonder why I should pay it when I can get a more powerful, faster, with more storage, and probably easier to fix PC with (shudder) Windows. Of course, at this point, when something new is launched on the market, it’s often the best time to buy refurbished. Hmmm.

Yes, OS X is a superior, wonderful and magical experience, but who cares? I don’t own an iPhone. I own a Samsung. I love OS X, but I don’t know iOS, and I don’t really feel like limiting myself with an iPhone. It’s not like Windows will make me want to jump off a bridge. It’s basic, a bit archaic, but it gets the job done. And now with all the great touch-screens that allow you to bypass mouse functions and just do what you want literally at the tip of your fingers, why would I wait for Apple to catch up? Touch-screens may be a gimmick, but who cares. When I’m in a rush, I want to be able to swipe not fenagle my track pad and zip my cursor from side to side trying to land on my target.  I have been waiting! I don’t need an iPad, I need a computer!

Ok. I will give that Macs have better performance, and I swear I really don’t want to give up OS X, but unless I get some great Hackintosh for a price tag below $1000, I can’t justify sticking with Apple. But before anyone loses their head, or starts yelling at me in all-caps about how stupid this all sounds, let it be said I haven’t bought a laptop yet, and I am still considering a refurbished MacBook Air. I just don’t want to spend all the money and then find I need to replace the battery, or the logic board blew or my RAM melted and I have to pay some know-it-all kid at the Genius Bar a substantial sum of money to pry open my over-priced blog-machine and replace a part I could’ve bought for $60 from the dude in Hong Kong (if it were a PC.)

Will it be hard to go back to a PC. Sigh. Yes. It’s kind of going to suck. I feel like I’m settling for the broken candy cane or like someone gave me an apple at Halloween (hahaha.) But I feel like the laptop industry is teetering on the edge right now. Apple is becoming less user-friendly and PCs, having finally jumped the nefarious hurdle Apple left for them years ago, are providing consumers with more flexibility than they ever dreamed. The question for me right now – is staying with Apple really worth it?

About humanbeen

I'm a has-been that was. I'm a dreamer that does.
This entry was posted in adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I might say good-bye to my Macintosh

  1. Sky says:

    What was your choice regarding a laptop? Mac or PC? Do you have any words of wisdom on the choice that you made? Here’s hoping that whatever you decided, you’re happy with your choice. Sky

    • humanbeen says:

      I went for a mac. The way I reasoned it was the PCs I wanted were more expensive. So I got a refurbished mac with flash memory. In four or five years when I buy a new computer I’ll have to go through this great debate again.

Leave a Reply

